Probabilités

Description du programme

La théorie des probabilités est l’étude mathématique des phénomènes caractérisés par le hasard et l’incertitude. Les spécialistes de cette discipline au sein de l’ISM s’intéressent à un large éventail de problèmes théoriques et appliqués où les probabilités discrètes et continues ont un rôle à jouer. Leurs travaux concernent notamment le développement et l’analyse de modèles probabilistes pour des phénomènes physiques, biologiques, statistiques et informatiques. Ils étudient entre autres la physique statistique dans un environnement aléatoire, les processus évolutifs en biologie, les systèmes à portée variable, les paysages énergétiques aléatoires, l’analyse de la structure de données au moyen d’arborescences aléatoires, la génétique et la biologie des populations.

Plusieurs membres du groupe font également partie du laboratoire de probabilités du CRM.

Membres du programme

Formation

Les étudiants intéressés à poursuivre leurs études graduées dans l'un ou l'autre des domaines mentionnés ci-dessus sont invités s'inscrire au programme. Il n'y a pas de prérequis spécifiques autres que ceux exigés par chaque département. Cependant les recommandations suivantes devraient être suivies et les cours devraient être choisis en consultation avec un professeur appartenant au groupe responsable du programme.

Les étudiants intégrés au programme devraient maîtriser les fondements de la théorie des probabilités. Ces étudiants devront prendre les cours intermédiaires suivants: théorie de la mesure et théorie des probabilités. Ils devront ensuite suivre des cours spécialisés.

Cours 2020-21

Automne

Probability Theory

Prof. X. Zhou

MAST 671/2, B / MAST 881

Institution: Concordia University

Advanced Probability Theory 1

Probability spaces. Random variables and their expectations. Convergence of random variables in Lp. Independence and conditional expectation. Introduction to Martingales. Limit theorems including Kolmogorov's Strong Law of Large Numbers.

Prof. Linan Chen

MATH 587

Institution: Université McGill

Probabilités - Université de Montréal

Espace de probabilité, variables aléatoires, indépendance, espérance mathématique, modes de convergence, lois des grands nombres, théorème central limite, espérance conditionnelle et martingales. Introduction au mouvement brownien.

Prof. François Perron

MAT 6701

Institution: Université de Montréal

Mesure et probabilités

Tribus et variables aléatoires. Théorie de l'intégration: théorème de Lebesgue, espace Lp, théorème de Fubini. Construction de mesures, mesure de Radon. Indépendance. Conditionnement.

 

Prof. Anne Mackay et Jean-François Renaud

MAT 7070

Institution: Université du Québec à Montréal

Hiver

Advanced Probability Theory 2

Characteristic functions: elementary properties, inversion formula, uniqueness, convolution and continuity theorems. Weak convergence. Central limit theorem. Additional topic(s) chosen (at discretion of instructor) from: Martingale Theory; Brownian motion, stochastic calculus.

Prof. Linan Chen

MATH 589

Institution: Université McGill

Calcul stochastique

Mouvement brownien, intégrale stochastique, formule d’Itô, équations différentielles stochastiques, théorèmes de représentation, théorème de Girsanov. Formule de Black et Scholes.

Prof.

MAT 6703

Institution: Université de Montréal

Contrôle stochastique optimal et applications

Ce cours-séminaire est une introduction au contrôle stochastique optimal. Il portera principalement sur la résolution du problème de dividendes optimales de Bruno de Finetti et les variantes publiées plus récemment.

Pré-requis: connaissances élémentaires sur le mouvement brownien, la formule d'Itô et le processus de Poisson composé.

 If needed, this course will be given in English.

Prof. Jean-François Renaud

MAT 998L

Institution: Université du Québec à Montréal

Theory of Probabilistic Graphical Models (for Inference and Learning)

Probabilistic graphical models are a framework for representing large systems of random variables with complex interactions. Theory of probabilistic graphical models studies probability distributions on directed and undirected graphs and combines statistical and optimization theory to develop effective computer algorithms. It has been used in many applications in machine learning, computer vision, natural language processing and bioinformatics.

This course introduces probabilistic graphical models from the very basics to some commonly used algorithms in machine learning.

i) Forms of graphical representation: Bayesian networks; Markov random fields; undirected versus directed models
ii) Inference: variable elimination; belief propagation; MAP inference, sampling based inference; variational inference
iii) Learning: maximal likelihood estimators for Bayesian networks; maximal likelihood estimation with gradient descent; Bayesian learning

References and Required Reading:

Main textbook: 
Koller, Daphne, and Nir Friedman. “Probabilistic graphical models: principles and techniques”. MIT press, 2009.

Other references:
Murphy, Kevin P. “Machine learning: a probabilistic perspective”. MIT press, 2012.

Wainwright, Martin J., and Michael I. Jordan. “Graphical models, exponential families, and variational inference.” Foundations and Trends in Machine Learning, 2008.

Grading will be based on bi-weekly theoretical assignments from the readings and on a final project.

Prerequisites: advanced courses in probability theory and statistical inference

Prof. Lea Popovic

MAST 679/4 P / MAST 881/4 P

Institution: Concordia University

Probability

Program Description

Probability theory is the branch of mathematics concerned with the analysis of random phenomena. The members of the ISM Probability Group are involved in research in a broad range of areas spanning theoretical and applied, continuous and discrete probability. A particular focus is on the development and analysis of probabilistic models for real-world phenomena from physics, biology, statistics and computer science. Some specific topics of interest are: statistical physics in a random environment, branching systems in biology, distances and random energy landscapes, data structure analysis using random trees, genetics and population biology.

Many members of the group are also members of the CRM Probability Lab.

Program Members

Academic Program

Students interested in graduate study in any of the areas cited above are invited to apply for admission to the program. There are no formal prerequisites other than those required by the departments. The following guidelines should be followed, however, and courses selected in consultation with an advisor from the group.

Students in the program are expected to have mastered the subject matter of the undergraduate curriculum in probability theory. All students are required to take the basic courses: Real Analysis Measure Theory and Probability Theory. Students are then expected to take a number of more specialized courses.

2017-18 Course Listings

Fall

Advanced Probability Theory 1

Probability spaces. Random variables and their expectations. Convergence of random variables in Lp. Independence and conditional expectation. Introduction to Martingales. Limit theorems including Kolmogorov's Strong Law of Large Numbers.

Prof. Linan Chen

MATH 587

Institution: McGill University

Probabilités - Université de Montréal

Espace de probabilité, variables aléatoires, indépendance, espérance mathématique, modes de convergence, lois des grands nombres, théorème central limite, espérance conditionnelle et martingales.

Prof. Sabin Lessard

MAT 6717

Institution: Université de Montréal

Winter

Honours Stochastic Processes

Conditional probability and conditional expectation, generating functions. Branching processes and random walk. Markov chains:transition matrices, classification of states, ergodic theorem, examples. Birth and death processes, renewal theory, queueing theory. Poisson processes. Introduction to Brownian motion, martingales. Further topics as time permits.

Prof. Louigi Addario-Berry

MATH 547

Institution: McGill University

Calcul stochastique

Le cours se veut une introduction aux processus stochastiques avec un accent sur les martingales, le mouvement brownien et l'intégrale stochastique. Ces trois objets mathématiques sont omniprésents de nos jours en probabilités et en finance-mathématique.
Le cours MAT6717 ou l'équivalent (c'est-à-dire un cours de probabilités utilisant de la théorie de la mesure) est un pré-requis. 
Les objectifs principaux du cours sont: 
1) explorer les propriétés du mouvement brownien et des martingales en général;
2) Développer des outils tels que l'intégrale stochastique d'Itô pour étudier et construire des processus stochastiques ;
3) Appliquer ces outils à la résolution de problèmes (formule de Black Scholes, équations différentielles stochastique, théorèmes de représentation des martingales, théorèmes de Girsanov).

Prof. Alexander Fribergh

MAT 6798

Institution: Université de Montréal