Carl Herz Prize

The Carl Herz Prize recognizes a research contribution made by a doctoral student registered at one of the ISM universities whose supervisor is a member of an ISM scientific group. The prize is worth $4,000, and is accompanied by a travel grant of $1,000, allowing the recipient to present his or her results at a scientific conference. The prize is awarded by a committee of internationally renowned mathematicians who are members of the ISM.

Each ISM university is invited to nominate a maximum of two candidates. Candidates should submit a copy of their most important research contribution (preprint, article), a one-page text explaining their principal results to a general mathematical audience, a CV, and a letter of recommendation from their thesis supervisor. A person can receive the Carl Herz Prize once only.

The deadline for Departments to submit nominations to the ISM is March 27, 2020.

The winner of the Carl Herz Prize shall be invited to give a talk at the ISM Student Conference in May 2020.    

Recipients of the Carl Herz Prize
(established in 2007)

Carl Herz Scholars

  • 2005-2006, Evgenij Kritchevski (Ph.D., Université McGill)
  • 2005-2006, Youness Lamzouri (Ph.D., Université de Montréal)
  • 2004-2005, David Smith (Ph.D., Université de Sherbrooke)
  • 2003-2004, Anik Soulière (Ph.D., Université de Montréal)
  • 2002-2003, Yves Atchadé (Ph.D., Université de Montréal)
  • 2001-2002, Marni Mishna (Ph.D., UQAM)
  • 2000-2001, Jonathan Taylor (Ph.D., Université McGill)
  • 1999-2000, Pierre Duchesne (Ph.D., Université de Montréal)